Main menu


Your Ultimate Guide to Commonwealth Scholarships

Introduced in 1959, the Commonwealth Scholarships and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) has become one of the world's most prominent and popular scholarship programs for students. Under this scheme, Commonwealth governments intend to provide financial assistance to students who are from Commonwealth countries and enable them to pursue their higher studies on an international platform.

Who is the governing body?

An annual provision available to all Commonwealth countries, the CSFP is primarily governed by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission. However, when it comes to India, it falls under joint administration -

British Council,

Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India,

Association of Commonwealth Universities, and

Commonwealth Grants Commission

What are the participating countries?

Although the Commonwealth is made up of several countries, only a few countries offer Commonwealth scholarships and scholarships for students. These countries include -

  • Australia
  • botswana
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Ghana
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Malaysia
  • malt
  • Mauricio
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United Kingdom
  • Various opportunities are available

Having benefited nearly 35,000 people since its inception, Commonwealth scholarships and scholarships offer numerous study opportunities for students. These are covered extensively within 7 key opportunities including:

  • Scholarships for master's and doctoral studies
  • Scholarships awarded to doctoral students
  • Joint scholarships for master studies
  • Distance scholarships for master's studies
  • Academic scholarships for mid-career teachers
  • Career Scholarships for Mid-Career Professionals
  • Medical Scholarships for Mid-Career Medical and Dental Staff
  • Commonwealth Scholarships You Can Apply For

While in India, if you are willing to study abroad and explore global opportunities, you can look for the following international scholarships:

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships

In order to promote and recognize the highest level of intellectual achievement, the Ministry of Human Resources and Development (MHRD), in collaboration with Foreign Affairs and Trade New Zealand, offers Commonwealth Scholarships to study Masters and PhD courses in New Zealand. The scholarship covers medical insurance, travel insurance, full tuition fee, living allowance, etc.

Commonwealth Scholarship in the UK

For Indian students to be skilled and trained professionals, the UK Department for International Development (DFID) offers Commonwealth Scholarships for Indian students pursuing a Masters and PhD programme. The scholarship covers travel expenses, tuition, thesis scholarship, stipend, etc.

Commonwealth Scholarship in Singapore

Offered by Nanyang Technological University, this Commonwealth Scholarship is for students who wish to pursue a PhD programme. A highly motivated person can win a SGD 2000 scholarship under this program, based on their academic excellence.

steps to follow

Applications for Commonwealth Scholarships can be submitted through your EAS (Electronic Application System) through the following steps:

Applicants must apply for a course of study at a university that offers a Commonwealth scholarship.

Check your nearest nominating agency for a recommendation (for India, the nominating agency could be the Ministry of Education or the University Grants Commission).

You can contact the counselors available at the nominating agencies to get better application advice.

Please provide appropriate references to support your application.

For more details on these scholarships and their providers, visit Buddy4Study, a reputable online scholarship information platform that acts as an intermediary between scholarship applicants and providers.